Schoolbound

3

August 11, 2012 by Manny Wordsmith

I see the fall semester rearing its little head around the corner, teasing me with shitty questions like,

“Are you ready for 3 and half hour classes?”

“Are you ready for pretentious journalism majors, who think they’re god’s gift because they know where to place a semi-colon?”

Fuck yeah I am fall semester. The hum drum of the 9 to 5 lifestyle is slowly killing me, one “punch-in/punch-out” at a time. I hate it. So you ask your questions expecting my response to be negative, but I have nothing but positivity for you fall. The classes will be tough, yes. And I can’t stand some of these snotty 20-year-olds, who occupy the desks around me. But I miss Detroit. I miss diversity and the feeling of actually accomplishing something bigger, instead of just feeling like I’m running on a treadmill. So do your worst. I have ALL night classes. Oh yes. I made the mistake last time, thinking that I could wake up early, drink coffee and live life among the regular folk. 8 a.m. is no time for me to listen to an aging professor talk about how things were when only radio gave the news…especially while I’m hung over.

I’ll also be getting my body together fall. Yup, I’ll actually be utilizing that big ass gym on campus. I have no idea how I’ll do it, but I plan on getting back to the body I had when I was fighting in Afghanistan. Oddly enough, that’s when I was at my strongest, fastest, and healthiest. Who ever said a little danger was bad for you? I also plan on doing some boxing training to help with a right cross I haven’t used since 2010.

So I have this fall. My gloves are up and I’m looking for openings. I’m knocking you and winter out, then I’m taking the stage in spring. Get ready.

3 thoughts on “Schoolbound

  1. Peaches says:

    “Are you ready for pretentious journalism majors, who think they’re god’s gift because they know where to use a semi-colon?”
    Loved this! I just graduated with my journalism degree, but yeah, that described the majority of people I graduated with. We’re a very snobby bunch. (Secretly, it’s fueled by insecurity, but they’ll never tell you that.)

    • Oh of course! They would never admit! I do my best to not be too much of a grammar snob, but even I have my moments lol. Congrats by the way!!

      • Peaches says:

        ha. Thanks. Fat lot of good it does me with no work visa….

        I’ll try to stay grounded. Remembering I’m from northern Michigan usually does the trick 😛 (Tree-hugging hillbilly heaven)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,307 other followers

