The Habit of Not Sleeping

1

April 12, 2012 by Manny Wordsmith

As I sit here listening to a soft-rock Spotify playlist I cleverly named “After Nirvana”, I think about how tired I am and the horrible sleeping habit I’ve created for myself.

I blame it on my dysfunctional immaturity. I literally defy the next day by saying, “I won’t be apart of you! I’ll just hover awake and watch episodes of ‘Battlestar Galactica’ till 3 a.m., nap till 8 a.m. and then see if I can marionette myself through school without getting my strings tangled.” My inner child sits with his arms folded, pouting, waiting to see what Admiral Adama will do next, instead of just trying to sleep.

I’d like to believe my nerdy obsession with “Battlestar” has little to do with my interrupted sleep cycle, but it probably does…at least for this month.

So when I get these tiny packaged 3hr, 4hr sleeps, I end up going through my day feeling like a kid being ridden on the handlebars of his impatient brother’s bike. I’m groggy, motion sick and everything is a blur. When I get home, instead of just hitting the bed, I try to exercise one of my many hobbies. Sometimes, I try to work on my soon-t0-be-famous short story (more on that!), or work on some music. Today, I had the wonderful experience of falling asleep in my studio while the first 4 measures of Lionel Richie’s hit song “Easy Like Sunday Morning” repeated in the background. If it wasn’t for neighbor’s offbeat series of knocks, I probably would have slept till now and woke up with a Jheri curl.

Maybe even that bad ass mustache too. Magnum P.I. had some competition in 84′.

So sleep now beckons me with a sweet and airy song…but I’ll ignore it and watch “Contraband” instead. I know, I know…I’m hard headed, stubborn, but I’ll be getting at least 9 hours of uninterrupted sleep after this flick is done. So that’s cool right? I’ll definitely be marking it down as progress well made. Plus, I get to see Marky Mark beat people up. Take care and good night!

One thought on “The Habit of Not Sleeping

  1. Cheryl Smith says:

    Well I’ll just sum it up to this one quote “Nothing comes to sleeper, but a dream”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,307 other followers

