I’ve Never Had Breakfast With a Tiffany

Leave a comment

November 1, 2011 by Manny Wordsmith

An ongoing trend…blogging at night.

The night has its pleasures…quietness mostly. That alone makes it easier to dribble out my thoughts.

As I scroll through my Netflix, I notice that the only 5 star recommendation they have for me this week is, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”.

Laugh it out people, but I sent an e-mail to Netflix to complain about this obvious misjudgment.

Dear Netflix,

There are 100’s of martial art movies that get dumped in your database every month. There’s not one you would recommend? Do you have to throw my emotional lapses in my face? It was one sad week, ONE! I didn’t think I would watch that many Gregory Peck and Marilyn Monroe flicks. Of course I threw in some Sinatra and Dean, but you still regurgitated “Breakfast”!

Filled with limitless disdain, your enemy,

Manny Smith

Dear Manny,

Don’t forget that the young beauty that stars in the film is Audrey Hepburn, a sexy brunette with a dazzling smile and a comical repertoire.

Damn good point. I have to chuckle at a girl who keeps her perfume in her mailbox.

Oh and did you notice the male co-star? It’s George Peppard, a.k.a Hannibal Smith, from the A-Team! You love the A-Team Manny! You’ve watched the first two seasons!

You got me again Netflix. I’ve watched this man and his crew shoot AK’s at nothing for years. I guess I can endure him as a struggling writer. I’ll hold my breath for a car chase.

The novel that the movie is based on was written by the famous Truman Capote! You’ve watched some of the other adaptations created from his works. Like, “In Cold Blood” and the 1953 black and white con flick “Beat the Devil”. You even researched the remake! You also watched the Capote’s biographic flick, “Capote” starring Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Your quite the fan! So we’d appreciate it if you continue to rate your movies honestly and keep up the variety!

Filled with complete joy and happiness, your best friend

Netflix!

Dear Netflix,

You’re like A.I. and out of this world. What’s my favorite number?

6

Amazing.

So I’m watching “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Netflix made a good argument…too good. It’s also a classic. And if I’m going to be a film guru of the world, I need to see the favorites. And these films are favorites for a reason.

“You must’nt give your heart to a wild thing. The more you do, the stronger they get, until they’re strong enough to run into the woods or fly into a tree, then into a higher tree, then into the sky!”

Those are some real words there Miss Golightly.

I’ll have to watch a lot of Arnold Schwarzenegger movies to put my movie equilibrium back in check. Maybe a couple Korean revenge flicks too.

Thank you Netflix.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,307 other followers

