Champagne For My Real Friends and Real Pain For My Sham Friends

Leave a comment

May 22, 2011 by Manny Wordsmith

People will do a lot of things to be happy. They’ll lie, mislead, and kill friendships to reach a balance. For me to be happy I just turn and stare at the Maya Rudolf look-alike that’s eagerly cleaning tables around me. Cheers to you young lady.

The point of the first sentence isn’t to bash anyone specific even though I would like to. I’m just amplifying the fact that people do a lot of things for love and happiness. Sometimes those things tread on the ones who were there supporting from the start and other things can rip a misguided heart right from a person’s chest. This might seem like some Shakespearean emo shit, but it’s life. It unfortunately happens to the people who wear their hearts on their sleeves. But my advice to you all is to be honest from the start and continue to be honest. Because if you let people believe something is alright when it isn’t, they’ll run with until they reach the finish line. If it’s worth the loss of sleep, then your words are meant to be spoken.

I ‘m now on a quest to re-shift and associate my life and loves with people and family that truly care for me. I didn’t do this when I first got home from active duty. I should have. I didn’t realize how much I changed. And before I could figure anything out, I had already invested too much in my friends. And that wasn’t fair to them or me. I scrambled to close the divide and figure out how I can be the me that was without completely changing the me that I had become. I unfortunately ended up with too many people trying to bring me back instead of letting me fly. The slate was washed and I’m starting with as few pieces as possible. I plan on flocking with birds of my feather and leaving the mayhem to the giant killers…no ones bringing me down. Peace fam!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,307 other followers

